California Secretary of State

Business Programs Division
1500 11th Street, Sacramento, CA 95814

Thank You for Doing Business in California
Congratulations on your new business registration with the California Secretary of State (SOS).

What's next?

1. Resources for Businesses Just Starting — The Secretary of State provides additional business
resources at bizfile.sos.ca.gov to help guide you through the process of starting your business, including:

Starting A Business Guide & Checklist —
WwWw.Ss0s.ca.gov/business-programs/business-entities/starting-business-checklist/ for key steps you
may need to take when launching a business in California.

SOS Business Resources — www.sos.ca.gov/business/be/resources for a list of agencies you may
need to contact to ensure proper compliance with California state law.

2. Corporations and Limited Liability Companies Can File SOS Statement of Information Online — For
faster service, file your initial Statement of Information and any future Statements of Information anytime
online by logging into your bizfile Online account at bizfileOnline.sos.ca.gov. To file, select the Statement
of Information document, complete and submit online. Statements by Common Interest Development
Association also can be filed online with your Statement of Information.

You are required to file a Statement of Information within the first 90 days of registering your business
with the SOS and you are statutorily required to maintain your business by filing a Statement of
Information, either every year for stock corporations or every other year for nonprofit corporations and
LLCs, before the end of the calendar month of the original registration date. Please see the table below
for your specific entity type. NOTE: You may be assessed a $250 penalty for not filing your Statement of
Information.

Entity Type (Jurisdiction)
All Stock Corporations (California)
Out-of-State Corporations
Credit Unions

Initial Due Date Frequency of Filing
Within 90 Days | Annually
Within 90 Days | Annually
Within 90 Days | Annually

Agricultural Cooperatives (California)

Within 90 Days

Annually

Cannabis Cooperative Associations

Within 90 Days

Annually

General Cooperatives

Within 90 Days

Every other year

Nonprofit Corporations (California)

Within 90 Days

Every other year

Nonprofit Corporations - Common Interest
Development*

Within 90 Days

Every other year

Limited Liability Companies

Within 90 Days

Every other year

All Other Business Entity Types

Statement of Information Not

Required

* Corporations formed as a Common Interest Development must file a Statement by Common Interest
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Development with their Statement of Information.

3. Franchise Tax Board (FTB) Tax Filing — Once your entity is registered with the SOS, you are required to
file a tax return with FTB for each taxable year, even if you are not conducting business or have no
income. Contact FTB at www.ftb.ca.gov or (800) 852-5711 for forms and requirements concerning
franchise taxes or income taxes.

Be aware, if you fail to file a return by the original or extended due date, or fail to pay taxes when due, a
penalty may be imposed by FTB. Please visit www.ftb.ca.gov/businesses/Penalty-Information.shtml for tax
penalty related information.

4. Business Names and Trademarks

Registration of a business with the Secretary of State does not in itself establish a trademark for the
business name. There is a separate legal process to establish a trademark or service mark. Additionally,
registration of a business with the Secretary of State does not authorize the use of a business name in
violation of another person’s or entity's rights to the name, such as infringement of a trademarked word or
phrase.

The Secretary of State’s office maintains registration and all updates of California state trademarks and
service marks. Information is accessible via our California Trademark Search at
tmbzifile.sos.ca.gov/search, which also provides free PDF copies of imaged Trademark documents.

For more information on the registration of business names and registering a trademark, visit:

General provisions governing trademarks and service marks are found in the Model State Trademark
Law — California Business and Professions Code sections 14200 et seq

Federal Trademark Act — United States Code, Title 15, Chapter 22, section 1051 et seq.

California Fictitious Business Name Law — Business and Professions Code section 17900 et

sed.

Common law rights, including rights to a trade name.
If you have any questions regarding such rights, please consult a private attorney.

5. Nonprofit Corporations

Nonprofit corporations in California are not automatically exempt from paying California franchise taxes
or income taxes each year. For information about tax requirements and/or applying for tax exempt status,
please contact the appropriate taxing agency listed below. If you are a domestic nonprofit public benefit
corporation, you likely have filing requirements with the California Office of the Attorney General.
https://oag.ca.qov/sites/all/files/agweb/pdfs/charities/publications/quide for_charities.pdf.

Other Business Information and Resources

All business entities are subject to state and federal tax laws. You may wish to contact the following agencies
to assist you with tax or other business-related issues:

Internal Revenue Service — www.irs.gov or call (800) 829-4933 for forms and issues concerning
Federal tax, employer identification numbers, subchapter S elections.

California Department of Tax and Fee Administration — www.ctdfa.ca.gov or call (800) 400-7115 for
forms and issues concerning sales taxes, use taxes or other special taxes and fees administered by
the California Department of Tax and Fee Administration.

Employment Development Department — www.edd.ca.gov or call (888) 745-3886 for forms and issues
concerning employment and payroll taxes.

California State Board of Equalization — www.boe.ca.gov or call (916) 274-3350 for forms and issues
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concerning property taxes, alcoholic beverage taxes, and taxes on insurers.

State Compensation Insurance Fund — www.statefundca.com or call (888) 782-8333 for information or
to get a quote for workers' compensation insurance.

Department of Industrial Relations, Division of Occupational Safety and Health (DOSH), better known
as Cal/OSHA - www.dir.ca.gov or call (800) 963-9424 for guidance on workplace safety and health
regulations in California.

CalGold — www.calgold.ca.gov for appropriate permit, licensing, and contact information for the
various agencies that administer and issue these permits.

CA Governor’s Office of Business and Economic Development (Go-Biz) — www.business.ca.gov for a
range of business services including, site selection and permit assistance.

The California Business Incentives Gateway (CBIG) — cbig.ca.gov is a web portal that connects
business owners and entrepreneurs with financial incentives.
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