
 
Instructions for Completing the Statement of Dissociation (FORM GP-3) 

 
 

Where to File:  For easier completion, this form is available on the California Secretary of State's 
website at www.sos.ca.gov/business/be/forms.htm and can be completed online and printed to mail.  
The completed form can be mailed to Secretary of State, Document Filing Support Unit, P.O. Box 
944225, Sacramento, CA 94244-2250 or delivered in person (drop off) to the Sacramento office.  If you 
are not completing this form online, please type or legibly print in black or blue ink.  This form is filed 
only in the Sacramento office. 
 
Legal Authority: Statutory filing provisions are found in California Corporations Code section 16704.  
All statutory references are to the California Corporations Code, unless otherwise indicated. 
 
 A Statement of Partnership Authority (Form GP-1) must be filed with the Secretary of State of 

California prior to filing a Statement of Dissociation (Form GP-3). 
 
 A dissociated partner or the partnership may file a Statement of Dissociation (Form GP-3) stating 

that a partner is dissociated. 
 
Fees:  The fee for filing Form GP-3 is $30.00.  A non-refundable $15.00 special handling fee is 
applicable for processing documents delivered in person (drop off) at the Sacramento office. The 
preclearance and/or expedited filing of a document within a guaranteed time frame can be requested 
for an additional non-refundable fee in lieu of the special handling fee. For detailed information about 
preclearance and expedited filing services, go to www.sos.ca.gov/business/be/service-options.htm. The 
special handling fee or preclearance and expedited filing services are not applicable to documents 
submitted by mail.  Check(s) should be made payable to the Secretary of State. 
 
Copies: Upon filing, we will return one (1) uncertified copy of your filed document for free. To get 
additional copies, include a separate request and payment for copy fees when the document is 
submitted.  Copy fees are $1.00 for the first page and $.50 for each additional page.  For certified 
copies, there is an additional $5.00 certification fee, per copy. 
 
Complete the Statement of Dissociation (Form GP-3) as follows: 
 
Item 1. Enter the name of the partnership as filed with the Secretary of State of California. 
 
Item 2. Enter the file number issued to the partnership by the Secretary of State of California. 
 
Item 3. Enter the name of the dissociated partner. 
 
Item 4. Enter a statement that the partner is dissociated from the partnership. Attach additional pages, 

if necessary, and indicate the number of pages attached in Item 5.   
 
Item 5. Enter the number of pages attached, if any. 
  
Item 6. A Statement of Dissociation (Form GP-3) filed by a dissociated partner shall be executed with 

the original signature of the dissociated partner.  A Statement of Dissociation (Form GP-3) 
filed by a partnership shall be executed with the original signatures of at least two partners. 
(Section 16105(c).)   

 
Item 7. Enter the name and mailing address of the person or firm to whom a copy of the filing is to be 

returned. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
GP-3  (REV 01/2013) 

http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displayText.xhtml?lawCode=CORP&division=&title=2.&part=&chapter=5.&article=1.
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displayText.xhtml?lawCode=CORP&division=&title=2.&part=&chapter=5.&article=7.


     Secretary of State 
Business Programs Division 

Business Entities, P.O. Box 944228, Sacramento, CA 94244-2280 
 

Mail Submission Cover Sheet 
Instructions: 

• Complete and include this form with your submission. This information only will be used to communicate with you 
in writing about the submission. This form will be treated as correspondence and will not be made part of the filed 
document. 

• Make all checks or money orders payable to the Secretary of State. 
• Do not include a $15 counter fee when submitting documents by mail. 
• Standard processing time for submissions to this office is approximately 5 business days from receipt. All 

submissions are reviewed in the date order of receipt. For updated processing time information, visit 
www.sos.ca.gov/business/be/processing-times.  

Optional Copy and Certification Fees: 

• If applicable, include optional copy and certification fees with your submission. 
• For applicable copy and certification fee information, refer to the instructions of the specific form you are submitting. 

 

Contact Person: (Please type or print legibly) 

First Name:  __________________________________________________  Last Name: _______________________________________________  

Phone (optional): ______________________________________________  

Entity Information:  (Please type or print legibly) 

Name:  __________________________________________________________________________________________________________________  

Entity Number (if applicable): _____________________________________  

Comments:  _____________________________________________________________________________________________________________  

  _____________________________________________________________________________________________________________  

  _____________________________________________________________________________________________________________  

  _____________________________________________________________________________________________________________  

Return Address:  For written communication from the Secretary of State related to this document, or if 
purchasing a copy of the filed document enter the name of a person or company and the mailing address. 

Name:    

Company:                     

Address:       

City/State/Zip:                                                                                                 

Secretary of State Use Only 
T/TR:  

AMT REC’D: $ 
 
Doc Submission Cover - OBE (Rev. 09/2016) 
 

http://www.sos.ca.gov/business-programs/business-entities/processing-times


 
Form GP-3 

 

State of California
Secretary of State 

 
STATEMENT OF DISSOCIATION 

 

A $30.00 filing fee must accompany this form. 
IMPORTANT – Read instructions before completing this form.   

1.   NAME OF PARTNERSHIP: 2.  SECRETARY OF STATE FILE NUMBER: 

3.   NAME OF DISSOCIATED PARTNER: 

4.   STATEMENT THAT THE PARTNER IS DISSOCIATED FROM THE PARTNERSHIP (ATTACH ADDITIONAL PAGES IF NECESSARY): 

5. NUMBER OF PAGES ATTACHED, IF ANY: 

THIS SPACE FOR FILING USE ONLY 6.  I DECLARE UNDER PENALTY OF PERJURY UNDER THE LAWS OF THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA THAT 

THE FOREGOING IS TRUE AND CORRECT. 
DOCUMENT #   

  
SIGNATURE OF PARTNER DATE EXECUTED 

  
TYPE OR PRINT NAME OF PARTNER COUNTY AND STATE EXECUTED 

  
SIGNATURE OF PARTNER DATE EXECUTED 

  

 

TYPE OR PRINT NAME OF PARTNER 

 

COUNTY AND STATE EXECUTED 

 

7. RETURN TO: 

 NAME: 
 
ADDRESS: 
 
CITY:  STATE: ZIP CODE: 
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