
 

California Secretary of State  
Conversion Information 

A domestic (California) stock corporation (Corp) can convert to a California other business entity; a California limited 
liability company (LLC), limited partnership (LP) or general partnership (GP) can convert to a California or foreign other 
business entity; and a foreign business entity can convert to a California Corp, LLC, LP or registered GP if the 
conversion is permitted under the laws of the jurisdiction of the foreign business entity. (California Corporations Code 
commencing with Sections 1150, 3300, 15911.01, 16901 and 17710.01.)  All statutory references below are to the 
California Corporations Code.  Note: A California Corp cannot convert to a foreign entity. 

The following table lists the correct document or form to be used and the fee required based on the type of conversion: 

Document/Form Converting Entity Converted Entity Filing Fee 

Articles of Incorporation containing a 
statement of conversion. Article forms are 
available for the following conversions: 

 Converting from a California LLC           
(Form CONV LLC-GS) 

 Converting from a California LP            
(Form CONV LP-GS) 

 Converting from a California GP           
(Form CONV GP-GS) 

 Converting from a Foreign Entity          
(Form CONV FE-GS) 

California LLC, LP or GP; or 
Foreign Corp, LLC, LP, GP 
or Other Business Entity 

California Corp $150 

Limited Liability Company Articles of 
Organization – Conversion  

 Form LLC-1A 

California Corp, LP, GP; or 
Foreign Corp, LLC, LP, GP 
or Other Business Entity  

California LLC 

$150 if California 
Corp involved; 
 
$70 for all others 

Certificate of Limited Partnership - Conversion  

 Form LP-1A 

California Corp, LLC, GP; or 
Foreign Corp, LLC, LP, GP 
or Other Business Entity 

California LP 

$150 if California 
Corp involved; 
 
$70 for all others 

General Partnership Statement of Partnership 
Authority - Conversion 

 Form GP-1A 

California Corp, LLC, LP; or 
Foreign Corp, LLC, LP or 
Other Business Entity 

Registered GP 

$150 if California 
Corp involved; 
 
$70 for all others 

Certificate of Conversion  

 Form CONV-1A 

California Corp, LLC, LP; or 
Registered foreign Corp, LLC, 
LP or Other Business Entity 

Non-registered GP 

$150 if California 
Corp involved; 
 
$30 for all others 

California LLC, LP, or 
Registered California GP 

Foreign Entity $30 

The following table clarifies the signature requirements for specific types of conversion filings: 

Converting Entity Signatories 

California Corp 
Sign and acknowledged by the chairman of the board, the president or any vice president AND 
the secretary, the chief financial officer, the treasurer or any assistant secretary or assistant 
treasurer.  (Section 1155(b) or 3304(b).)  

California LLC  

Signed and acknowledged by all members of a member-managed limited liability company or all 
managers of a manager-managed limited liability company, unless a lesser number is provided in 
the articles of organization or the operating agreement. (Section 17710.06(b).)  Note: Signing a 
document on behalf of a converting LLC constitutes an affirmation under penalty of perjury that 
the facts stated in the document are true. (Section 17702.07(c).) 

California LP 
Signed and acknowledged by all general partners. (Section 15911.06(b).) Note: Signing a 
document on behalf of a converting LP constitutes an affirmation under penalty of perjury that the 
facts stated in the document are true. (Section 15902.08(b).) 

California GP  Signed by at least two partners. (Section 16105(c).) 

Foreign Entity According to the laws of the foreign jurisdiction. 
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